Illinois PGA Foundation Announces Scholarship Honorees

Oct 15, 2020

Carly Schiene Earns Alice Meyer Brown Scholarship
Grant Klepitsch named Louis M. Brown Scholarship Honoree

GLENVIEW, Ill. – October 15, 2020 – The Illinois PGA Foundation has announced that Carly Schiene of Mokena, Ill. is the 2020 Alice Meyer Brown Scholarship honoree and Grant Klepitsch of Crystal Lake, Ill. is the 2020 Louis M. Brown Scholarship recipient. Riley Sullivan (St. Charles, Ill.), Grace Owens (Hinsdale, Ill.) and Dana Labiak (Planfield, Ill.) have all renewed their Alice Meyer Brown Scholarship for 2020 and Will Marshall (Elburn, Ill.) also renewed his Louis M. Brown Scholarship.
The Alice Meyer Brown Scholarship is awarded to graduating Illinois high school women who have demonstrated commitment to excellence in the classroom, in the community and on the golf course. This scholarship was established in 1995 through a grant from the C. Louis Meyer Family Foundation. Named in memory of Alice Meyer Brown, an accomplished amateur golfer and local club champion, this scholarship seeks to encourage and promote the attainment of higher education for graduating high school women who have continued to demonstrate academic excellence in the classroom, while accomplishing outstanding achievements in golf.
Schiene was a four-year varsity letter winner on the womens’ golf team at Lincoln-Way Central High School. In that time, she earned All-Conference recognition four times and finished T5 at the 2019 IHSA 2A State Championship. She was also named captain of the womens’ varsity golf team her senior year. In addition to golf, Schiene was a three-year varsity badminton player. Schiene excelled as much off the course as she did on the course. She was the President of the Future Farmers of America for three years and a member of the National Honors Society. Schiene is a freshman at Valparaiso University, a member of the womens’ golf team and is pursuing a degree in civil engineering.    
“I am a 2020 graduate of Lincoln-Way Central High School where I was an Illinois State Scholar, a member of the Nationals Honor Society, and President of Future Farmers of America,” said Schiene. “I was a varsity member of the girls’ golf team for all four years in high school, and I am now a member of the Women's Golf team at Valparaiso University where I have declared Civil Engineering as my major. Thank you so much for selecting me as the 2020 Alice Meyer Brown Scholarship recipient!”

The Louis M. Brown Scholarship seeks to encourage and promote the attainment of higher educational goals for high school men who have excelled in the game of golf, achieved academic excellence in the classroom and have demonstrated leadership in the community. Named after the family’s late patriarch, the Louis M. Brown Scholarship strives to perpetuate this goal and provide the means for outstanding student golfers to continue on the path to achieving their academic goals. This scholarship was created in 2009 with a gift from the C. Louis Meyer Family Foundation.
Klepitsch was a three-year varsity letter winner for the mens’ golf team at Prairie Ridge High School. He was also a three-time state qualifier and earned All-Conference recognition three times. He was also the Chris Voloch award winner for outstanding sportsmanship and leadership in 2018 and 2019. Klepitsch is a freshman at Wittenberg University, is a member of the mens’ golf team and is pursuing a degree in marketing.
“I am honored that I was selected as the recipient of the Louis M. Brown scholarship,” said Klepitsch. “I was a 3-time state qualifier in high school and was named an all-conference player for three years as well. Currently, I am attending and playing golf at Wittenberg University in Springfield, Ohio and I am planning on studying marketing.”

Sullivan is a junior at Farifield University and Labiak is a junior at the University of St. Francis. Both were the Alice Meyer Brown Scholarship recipients in 2018 and will be renewing their scholarships this fall. Owens is a sophomore at Washington & Lee University and was the recipient of this scholarship last year and will also be renewing the scholarship for the fall of 2020.

Marshall, who won the Louis M. Brown Scholarship in 2019, is a sophomore at the University of Nebraska – Lincoln and will also be renewing his scholarship this fall.  
About the Illinois PGA/Illinois PGA Foundation
The Illinois Section of the PGA of America is a professional organization serving the men and women golf professionals in northern and central Illinois who are the recognized experts in growing, teaching and managing the game of golf. The Illinois PGA is responsible for the administration of competitive golf tournaments, educational opportunities, support programs and growth of the game initiatives. With over 840 members and apprentices, the Illinois PGA is one of the 41 regional Sections that comprise the PGA of America. The Illinois PGA Foundation focuses its community efforts on promoting the goodwill and growth of the game with an emphasis on activities that benefit youth. Foundation initiatives include: GolfWorks Illinois, Youth-based Scholarship Funds and the Illinois Golf Hall of Fame. For more information about the Illinois PGA and the Illinois PGA Foundation, please visit and join us on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram.

# # #

Kevin Quinn
Illinois PGA Communications
708.336.1294 mobile